Skip Navigation
Welcome to the website for the town of Rutland, Massachusetts
This table is used for column layout.

On Our Site
Search Our Site
Site  This Folder
Advanced Search

August 18, 2011
Board of Selectmen
August 18, 2011
Community Hall Annex
7:00 p.m.

Present:  Michael S. Pantos, Vice-Chairman, Leroy C. Clark, Sheila H. Dibb and Nancy Macaruso, Secretary.  Joseph R. Becker, Chairman arrived at 7:15 pm and Peter Letsky was absent.  

Also present:  
*  Finance Committee members:  Clealand Blair, Helene Irish, Deb Kristoff and Lyndon Nichols.
*  Capital Improvement Planning Committee members:  Ramey Erickson, Addison Redfield and Donald DeLeire.
*  Sally Hayden, Treasurer/Collector and Clark Rowell from Unibank.

Discussion on borrowing / debt:  Mr. Pantos read Mr. Becker’s recommendations / preferences:  water tank 20 years, sewer rehab 10 years, two fire vehicles and one DPW vehicle 5 years, ambulance 1 year and Naquag renovations 10 years.  Per Mr. Pantos, the Naquag Green Repair renovations numbers look to be in line with the vote taken.

Mrs. Hayden explained some of her calculations for the average homeowner with water and sewer users being impacted slightly more.  Mr. Blair disagreed with Mr. Becker’s recommendations and feels the borrowing should be extended out longer for certain projects.  Mr. Rowell shared his explanations.

Mr. Pantos moved to structure the debt as follows:  water tank 20 years, sewer rehab 10 years, vehicles 5 years, ambulance 1 year and Naquag School renovations 10 years.  Mrs. Dibb seconded.  Vote unanimous.

Mrs. Dibb moved to adjourn.  Mr. Pantos seconded.  Vote unanimous.  Meeting adjourned at 7:40 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Nancy M. Macaruso, Secretary
Board of Selectmen

Town of Rutland 250 Main Street, Rutland, MA 01543   Disclaimer   Nondiscrimination Statement
Virtual Towns & Schools Website